Visa information

By Presidential Decree of 21 of 2016 dated on 2 March 2016 on Visa Free, replacing Presidential Regulation Number 104/2015 on Amendments to Presidential Regulation Number 69/2015 on Visa Free, Indonesia now provides special Short Stay Visa Free facilities for tourists who are nationals of a total 169 countries who wish to travel to Indonesia.

Free Visa

Free Visa Facilities are valid for 30 days, are non-extendable and cannot be transferred into any other type of of stay permit. The visa exemption facility can be used for tourism, family visit, social visit, art and cultural, government duty, to deliver a speech or attend a seminar, international exhibition, meetings with head office or representative office in Indonesia, or transit only.

The following are the Countries granted Visa Free Facilities according to Presidential Decree No. 21 of 2016:

2Algeria45El Salvador88Maldives131Serbia
5Antigua and Barbuda48Finland91Marshall Islands134Slovakia
7Armenia50Gabon93Mauritius136Solomon Islands
8Australia51Gambia94Mexico137South Africa
9Austria52Georgia95Moldova138South Korea
11Bahamas54Ghana97Mongolia140Sri Lanka
18Benin61Hong Kong104Netherlands147Tanzania
19Bhutan62Hungary105New Zealand148Thailand
20Bolivia63Iceland106Nicaragua149Timor Leste
21Bosnia & Herzegovina64India107Norway150Togo
23Brazil66Italy109Palau152Trinidad and Tobago
24Brunei Darussalam67Ivory Coast110Palestine153Tunisia
26Burkina Faso69Japan112Papua New Guinea155Turkmenistan
30Cape Verde73Kiribati116Poland159United Arab Emirates
31Chad74Kuwait117Portugal160United Kingdom
32Chile75Kyrgyzstan118Puerto Rico161United States
33China76Lao, People’s Democratic119Qatar162Uruguay
35Costa Rica78Lebanon121Russian Federation164Vanuatu
36Croatia79Lesotho122Rwanda165Vatican City State
37Cuba80Liechtenstein123Saint Kitts and Nevis166Venezuela
38Cyprus81Lithuania124Saint Lucia167Vietnam
39Czech Republic82Luxemburg125Saint Vincent and Grenadines168Zambia
41Dominica (Commonwealth)84Macedonia127San Marino
42Dominican Republic85Madagascar128Sao Tome and Principe
43Ecuador86Malawi129Saudi Arabia

More information about Free Visa, please visit:

If the 30 days of Visit Visa Exemption facility feels insufficient, visitor still can apply for Visa on Arrival (given for 30 days and extendable for another 30 days) or Visit Visa.

Visa on Arrival

In accordance with the Regulation of Minister of Law and Human Right of the Republic of Indonesia Number: 21, on August 26, 2015, citizen from 65 countries and 1 region are eligible for obtaining Visa on Arrival (VOA). The Indonesian Government extends Visa on Arrival (VoA) to nationals of 65 countries and 1 region which can be obtained at designated entry airports and sea ports. Visa-on-Arrival are valid for 30 days and are extendable with another 30 days to be applied at Immigration offices in Indonesia. Visas cost US$35.

This visa can be obtained directly when you are landed at the certain airports and seaport in Indonesia regardless of the purpose of your visits (Business, Tourist, Social). The Visa on Arrival is not a work visa nor a visitation visa. Therefore, it can not be converted to obtain other immigration permits. The maximum stays permitted for the visa on arrival is 30 days. If you plan to stay longer than 30 days, you need to mention your intention to stay longer. Visa on Arrival can be extended for another 30 days.

The official entry requirements for the issuance of a 30 or 7 days day visa-on arrival:

  1. Passport must be from one of the countries listed below.
  2. Passport must be valid for a minimum of 6 (six) months from the date of entry into Indonesia.
  3. Payment,depending on the length of visa required.
  4. Onward or return tickets are compulsory.
  5. Visitors must enter and exit through one of the 15 airports or 21 seaports officially approved as an international gateway by the Indonesian Immigration department.

Indonesia Government had granted visa on arrival favor to 65 countries and 1 region to be able to purchase the visa on arrival facility upon their arrival in Indonesia’s designed International Gateway at 20 airports and 23 seaports. Those 65 countries and 1 region are as follow:

1Argentina18Finland35Luxembourg52Slovak Republic
4Algeria21Greece38Mexico55South Africa
5Bahrain22Hungary39Monaco56South Korea
6Belgium23India40New Zealand57Suriname
9Czech Republic26Ireland43Oman60Taiwan PRC
10Cambodia27Italy44Panama61Timor Leste
13China30Laos47Qatar64Uni Arab Emirates
14Denmark31Latvia48Romania65United Kingdom (British)
15Estonia32Libya49Russia66United States of America
16Egypt33Lithuania50Saudi Arabia

More information about Visa on Arrival, please visit:

“Free Visa” or “Visa on Arrival” recommended gates for the 4th ICFAES 2022 international participants, as follow:

  1. Sultan Iskandar Muda International Airport in Banda Aceh, Aceh (International arrival at Banda Aceh – Direct Flight).
  2. Kualanamu International Airport in Medan, Sumatera Utara (International arrival at Medan and continue with domestic flight to Banda Aceh).
  3. Soekarno-Hatta International Airport in Jakarta (International arrival at Jakarta and continue with domestic flight to Banda Aceh).

Others nationals that not granted with either visa on arrival favor nor visa free favor from Indonesia government may apply for tourist visa at Indonesia embassy abroad.